Crustless pie a treat for those with gluten intolerance | Food

People with food allergies or intolerances may avoid certain celebrations for fear that a nibble of this or a bite of that might trigger an allergic reaction. In such cases, concern for ingredients can cast a pall over normally festive occasions.

People with celiac disease or gluten intolerances need to be careful about the foods they eat. Meals or desserts containing gluten, a protein found in grains such as wheat, semolina, rye, barley, spelled, flour, etc., can trigger intestinal upset and other symptoms. With delicious pies, cakes and cookies on the holiday serving table, gluten is likely to make an appearance. However, with careful planning, people who can’t digest gluten-containing foods can still indulge in their favorite holiday flavors.

Cooking time

Comments are closed.