Are you allergic to gluten? The expert recommends the best beans you can opt for instead
For a celiac patient, supplements of folic acid, calcium, iron and vitamin B12 are necessary at the time of diagnosis. | Photo credit: iStock Images
- Statistics show that in India, common allergies among people are shrimp, eggplant, eggs, legumes and milk.
- Gluten allergy is a generic term used to define the many reactions of the immune system to the consumption of cereals containing gluten.
- Celiac disease is a chronic disease where ingestion of gluten results in damage to the intestines.
New Delhi: Statistics show that in India common allergies among people are shrimp, eggplant, eggs, legumes and milk; this means that gluten allergies are not as common. However, that does not mean that it is purely a “western disease”: more than 10% of people suffer from gluten intolerance.
What is gluten allergy?
Gluten allergy is sensitivity to a particular protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye; and the disease is of three types: celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and wheat allergy. Therefore, gluten allergy is an umbrella term used to define the many reactions of the immune system to the consumption of cereals containing gluten. When these patients consume gluten, they may have the following symptoms of a reaction:
- Abdominal pain
- Rashes on the skin
- Stomach pains
Sharing more information on gluten allergy, Ms Aruna Mallya, Senior Dietitian at KMC Hospital, revealed what it is, the foods a patient can eat or should avoid for better management of the consequences. .
“Celiac disease is a chronic disease where ingestion of gluten results in damage to the intestines. It is commonly referred to as an allergy; however, it is actually an autoimmune disease where food triggers reactions. Additionally, gluten is not tolerated in cases of mediated wheat allergy and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Here, a small amount of gluten activates the immune response and leads to short and long term complications, ”she said.
Ms Mallya said patients should avoid the immunogenic components of grains i.e. gluten (the protein component of grain) found in wheat, rye, barley and oats because it is is the main treatment in terms of diet. She recommended that patients read food labels when shopping and avoid foods containing gluten in hidden forms. Hidden sources of gluten are often found in:
- Soya sauce
- Malt vinegar
- Breakfast cereals
- Spices like asafetida
- Packaged soups and sauces
“For a celiac patient, supplements of folic acid, calcium, iron and vitamin B12 are necessary at the time of diagnosis. Vitamins A, D, E, and K are generally recommended for long-term patients. 20 mg of gluten per kilogram of food is generally accepted according to guidelines, ”she added.
What Can Gluten Allergic Patients Eat Without Guilt?
Some of the healthiest gluten-free grains, which are also beneficial for diabetic patients, include:
- Water chestnut (singhara)
Other safe options for patients with allergies to gluten include:
- Me at
- Eggs Fruit
Yogurt, paneer, cheese are also well tolerated in some patients. Sugar, honey, and jaggery can also be consumed within healthy limits. Smoothies, soups, porridge, lassi, buttermilk, juices, salads, pulao rice, khichri, dosas, idlis, seasonal fruits are healthy choices that can be included in the diet.
Disclaimer: The tips and suggestions mentioned in the article are for general information only and should not be construed as professional medical advice. Always consult your doctor or dietitian before starting a fitness program or making any changes to your diet.